Advisory Board

Eminent individuals who have agreed to be available to the Commission for advice and consultation as required, and in some cases (*) to play a more intensively engaged role as Research Consultants. Additional names may be added as the work of the Commission proceeds.

Nobuyasu Abe (Japan)*

UN Under-Secretary-General for Disarmament Affairs, 2003-06.

Shlomo Ben-Ami (Israel)

Minister of Foreign Affairs, 2000-01; Vice-President of the Toledo International Centre for Peace.

Hans Blix (Sweden)

Director General of IAEA,1981-97; Executive Chairman of UN Monitoring, Verification and Inspection Commission, 2000-03; Chairman, Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission, 2006.

Lakhdar Brahimi (Algeria)

Minister of Foreign Affairs, 1991-93; UN Under-Secretary-General, Special Representative, Envoy and Adviser 1997-2006.

John Carlson (Australia)

Director General of Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office since 1989.

Nabil Fahmy (Egypt)

Ambassador of Egypt to the United States,1999-2008.

Louise Fréchette (Canada)

Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations,1998-2006.

Lawrence Freedman (UK)

Professor of War Studies at King's College London since 1982.

Roberto García Moritán

Secretary of Foreign Affairs 2005-2008; Undersecretary of Foreign Affairs 2000-2005; President of the Conference of Disarmament in the year 1992 and 2009; Member of the Board of Directors of the Argentine Atomic Commission

Han Sung-Joo (Republic of Korea)

Minister of Foreign Affairs, 1993-94. Professor Emeritus of International Relations at Korea University.

Prasad Kariyawasam (Sri Lanka)

Additional Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Sri Lanka, 2008-present; Permanent Representative of Sri Lanka to the United Nations in New York, 2005-2008 and in Geneva 2001-04.

Henry Kissinger (United States)

Secretary of State from 1973 -77; National Security Advisor 1969-75; Chairman of Kissinger Associates Inc.

Shunsuke Kondo (Japan)

Chairman of the Japan Atomic Energy Commission since 2004.

Anne Lauvergeon (France)


Martine Letts (Australia)*

Former Australian Ambassador; Secretary General of the Australian Red Cross 2001-04;

Deputy Director of the Lowy Institute for International Policy.

Patricia Lewis (Ireland)*

Deputy Director and Scientist-in-Residence at the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies, Monterey Institute of International Studies; Director of the United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR), 1997-2008.

Antonio Martino (Italy)

Minister for Foreign Affairs, 1994; Minister for Defence, 2001-2006; Member of the Defence Committee of the Italian House of Deputies

Sam Nunn (United States)

Senator from Georgia, 1972-97; Chairman of the Senate Armed Service Committee, 1987-1995; Co-Chairman and CEO of the Nuclear Threat Initiative.

Robert O’Neill (Australia)

Chichele Professor for the History of War at Oxford University, 1987-2000.

George Perkovich (United States)*

Vice-President of Studies and director of the nonproliferation program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.

V R Raghavan (India)*

Director General of Military Operations, 1992-94; Advisor, Delhi Policy Group.

George Robertson (United Kingdom)

Secretary of Defence 1997-99; Secretary General of NATO, 1999-2004.

Michel Rocard (France)

Prime Minister, 1988-91.

Adam Daniel Rotfeld (Poland)

Foreign Minister of Poland, 2005; Director of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI), 1990-2002; Chair of the UN Secretary General's Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters (ABDM), since 2008; Co-Chairman of the Polish-Russian Working Group for Difficult Matters, since December 2007.

Yukio Satoh (Japan)

Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations from 1998 to 2002.President of the Japan Institute of International Affairs.

George Shultz (United States)

Secretary of State from 1982-89; Distinguished Fellow at the Hoover Institution for War, Revolution and Peace at Stanford University.

Hans van den Broek (Netherlands)

Minister of Foreign Affairs, 1982-1993; European Commissioner for External Relations, 1993-1999.

Contact details

ICNND Secretariat, R G Casey Building, John McEwen Crescent, Barton ACT 0221, Australia - Tel: +61 2 6261 1111 - Fax: +61 2 6261 1003 - Email:

Tokyo Office:
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kasumigaseki 2-2-1 Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 100-8919 Japan