Gareth Evans (Australia) (Co-Chair)

Mr Evans was Australia’s Resources and Energy Minister from 1984 to 1987 and Foreign Minister from 1988 to 1996. He is President Emeritus of the International Crisis Group and chair or member of several global commissions, including the UN Secretary-General’s High Level Panel on Threats, Challenges and Change (2004).

Yoriko Kawaguchi (Japan) (Co-Chair)

Ms Kawaguchi was a MITI Director-General, Managing Director of Suntory Ltd, and then Japan’s Environment Minister from 2000 to 2002, and Foreign Minister from 2002 to 2004. She is currently a member of the House of Councillors and Chair of the Liberal Democratic Party Research Commission on Environment.

Turki Al Faisal (Saudi Arabia)

HRH Prince Turki was Director General of Intelligence from 1977 to 2001, Ambassador to the United Kingdom and Ireland from 2002 to 2005, and to the United States from 2005 to 2007. He is currently Chairman of the Board of the King Faisal Center for Research and Islamic studies in Riyadh.

Alexei Arbatov (Russia)

Dr Arbatov was a member of the Russian Duma and Deputy Chairman of the Duma Defence Committee from 1994 to 2003. He is currently a Scholar-in-residence and Chair of the non-proliferation program at the Carnegie Moscow Center.

Gro Harlem Brundtland (Norway)

Dr Brundtland was Prime Minister of Norway for ten years between 1981 and 1996. She chaired the World Commission on Environment and Development which published the report ‘Our Common Future’ in 1987, and Director-General of the World Health Organization from 1998 to 2003. She is currently the United Nations Secretary-General’s Special Envoy on Climate Change.

Frene Noshir Ginwala (South Africa)

Dr Ginwala was Speaker of South Africa’s National Assembly from 1994 to 2004. She is currently Chancellor of the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

François Heisbourg (France)

Mr Heisbourg is Chairman of the International Institute for Strategic Studies and Geneva Centre for Security Policy, and Special Adviser at the Fondation pour la Recherche Stratégique, and was a member of the French government commission that produced the 2008 Defence and National Security White Paper.

Jehangir Karamat (Pakistan)

General (Retired) Karamat was Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and Chief of Army Staff until 1998 and Pakistan’s Ambassador to the United States from 2004 to 2006. He is currently the Director of Spearhead Research.

Brajesh Mishra (India)

Mr Mishra was India’s Ambassador in Geneva, Jakarta and New York from 1973 to 1981, and National Security Adviser and Principal Secretary to former Indian Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee from 1998 to 2004.

Klaus Naumann (Germany)

General (Retired) Naumann was Chairman of the NATO Military Committee from 1996 to 1999 and Chief of the Defence Staff in Germany from 1991 to 1996. He is currently a member of the International Advisory Board of the World Security Network Foundation.

William Perry (United States)

Dr Perry was the U.S. Secretary of Defense from 1994 to 1997. He is currently a professor at Stanford University in the School of Engineering and Institute of International Studies.

Wang Yingfan (China)

Ambassador Wang was China’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations from 2000 to 2003, and Vice-Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Chinese National People’s Congress from 2003 to 2008.

Shirley Williams (United Kingdom)

Baroness Williams was Leader of the Liberal Democrat Party in the House of Lords from 2001 to 2004. She is currently Professor Emeritus of the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University and an adviser to Prime Minister Gordon Brown on nuclear proliferation issues.

Wiryono Sastrohandoyo (Indonesia)*

Ambassador Wiryono was Director-General of Political Affairs in Indonesia’s Department of Foreign Affairs from 1990-1993. He has served as Indonesia’s Ambassador to Australia, France and Austria, and as Permanent Representative to the United Nations Office in Vienna. He was the Chief Negotiator for the Indonesian Government with the Aceh autonomy movement, and served on the Board of Governors for the IAEA. Ambassador Wiryono is currently a Senior Fellow at the Centre for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) in Jakarta, Governor for Indonesia in the Asia-Europe Foundation, and a Governor for the Indonesian Institute for Peace and Democracy.

Ernesto Zedillo (Mexico)

Dr Zedillo was President of Mexico from 1994 to 2000. He is currently Director of the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization, and Professor in the Field of International Economics and Politics at Yale University.

*  Pak Wiryono was appointed to the Commission in January 2009 following the death of his Indonesian predecessor Ali Alatas in December 2008.  Mr Alatas was Foreign Minister of Indonesia  from 1988 to 1999, and was advisor to and special envoy of the President of the  Republic of Indonesia at the time of his death. The Commission was deeply saddened by the news of the passing of our colleague, who participated in the first meeting in October 2008, and his wise advice and wealth of experience will be sorely missed internationally.

Contact details

ICNND Secretariat, R G Casey Building, John McEwen Crescent, Barton ACT 0221, Australia - Tel: +61 2 6261 1111 - Fax: +61 2 6261 1003 - Email:

Tokyo Office:
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kasumigaseki 2-2-1 Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 100-8919 Japan